General Cigar Company has informed retailers that three lines under the La Gloria Cubana brand are being discontinued effective immediately.  These lines include La Gloria Cubana Artesanos de Tabaqueros, La Gloria Cubana Retro Especial, and the La Gloria Cubana Artisans de Miami.

The Artesanos de Tabaqueros was introduced at the 2010 IPCPR Trade Show.  It featured two wrapper segments on one cigar – a Connecticut Shade and an Ecuadorian Sumatra.  The cigar finished as the #4 Cigar of the Year on Cigar Coop for 2010.

The Retro Especial was introduced at the 2011 IPCPR Trade Show. The intent of this cigar was to create a blend that minimized the effect of the wrapper – which is normally the part of the cigar that delivers the most flavor.

The Artesanos de Miami is the oldest of the three discontinued lines.  This cigar was created while Ernesto Perez-Carrillo was still a part of General Cigar.