The Prime Time Awards are voted on by each of the three members of the Prime Time Podcasts. The awards look at the impact on the cigar industry. Today, we unveil our choice for 2018 Large Factory of the Year. This award factors in things such as innovation, continued quality, and impact to the industry.

Fábrica de Tabacos Joya de Nicaragua, S.A., the oldest cigar factory in Nicaragua is the Prime Time team’s selection for 2018 Large Factory of the Year.

Last week, Fábrica de Tabacos Joya de Nicaragua, S.A. was announced as our top performing factory when it came to the reviews on Cigar Coop. The Prime Time Award goes larger. It encompasses the three hosts of the Prime Time Shows and factors in the intangibles related to innovation, quality, and impact to the industry.

2018 was a big year for Joya de Nicaragua as the company and factory celebrated its 50th anniversary. Joya de Nicaragua certainly made the most of it, producing two acclaimed cigars for its own brand with Cinco Décadas and Joya Silver. Meanwhile, the factory was hard at working handling production for companies such as Dunbarton Tobacco & Trust, Villiger Cigars, and Fratello Cigars. Not only was the innovation with newer products impressive, the team noted the consistency and high quality of the releases coming out of this factory as a key factor as well.


Meanwhile Fábrica de Tabacos Joya de Nicaragua, S.A. tied for a leading four spots on the Cigar Coop Countdown of the best cigars of 2018. It was represented two times on Bear Duplisea’s Top 10 Cigars of the Year on #ElOsoFumarTakes, and two spots on Aaron Loomis’ Top 25 Cigars for 2018 on Developing Palates. Looking across the online media and print media lists for 2018, it was hard not to find a Joya de Nicaragua cigar on a list.

Honorable Mentions: Tabacalera Fernandez, Cigars Davidoff, La Gran Fabrica Drew Estate.

The full vote results appear here.

Previous Winners

Note: Previous winners of this award were awarded to companies that were either large or have a conglomeration of factories. In 2017, the award was changed to a single large factory unit.

2014 Casa Fernandez (Multiple locations: Nicaragua, United States)
2015 Davidoff, Dominican Republic
2016 Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia, Dominican Republic
2017 Plasencia S.A., Nicaragua
2018 Fábrica de Tabacos Joya de Nicaragua, S.A., Nicaragua

Photo Credit: Joya de Nicaragua